We're Hiring!

import to Omero from Olympus CellR apl files

Historical discussions about the Bio-Formats library. Please look for and ask new questions at https://forum.image.sc/tags/bio-formats
Please note:
Historical discussions about the Bio-Formats library. Please look for and ask new questions at https://forum.image.sc/tags/bio-formats

If you are having trouble with image files, there is information about reporting bugs in the Bio-Formats documentation. Please send us the data and let us know what version of Bio-Formats you are using. For issues with your code, please provide a link to a public repository, ideally GitHub.

import to Omero from Olympus CellR apl files

Postby twegier » Fri Jan 27, 2017 2:38 pm

I am new to omero, and currently testing import scenarios from various imaging systems.
I encountered several problems while importing files from Olympus CellR
(I am not sure whether this fits more Omero forum or this one...).
We are using Omero 5.2.7 and CellR version 3.2 Build 1700.

1. The first problem deals with the awkward tree structure after import from apl files.
Apparently, entries from the created fileset are named according to the following pattern:
database.apl [imageName]
The problem is that with this pattern it is very likely to get the whole list
of identical entries, because database.apl is constant for each import, and imageNames are by default just channel names (at least on our system), so they will be repeated many times. IMHO, it would be very helpful to have the "Experiment Name" included in the entry name, e.g. instead of the database name. Each acquisition in CellR results in a new experiment placed in the database, and this is the "Experiment Name" field that distinguishes each experiment/run. Currently, to avoid identical entries in Omero, an user would have to specifically name each image/image sequence in CellR, which would be a nightmare,