Page 2 of 2

Re: Difficulty using insight to log in to VirtualBox omero 4

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:26 pm
by bpavie
Hi Kenny,

I uploaded the 2 logs files omeroServerLogs.zip and omeroClientLogs.zip using http://qa.openmicroscopy.org.uk/qa/upload

I zipped both logs server and client after having done a telnet and openssl queries, web connection and tried to connect using the java client ( using the bash script OMEROinsight_unix.sh )

For information:
Code: Select all
scp -r -P 2222 omero@localhost:/home/omero/OMERO.server/var/log /tmp/
zip -r /tmp/omeroServerLogs.zip /tmp/log/

and
Code: Select all
zip /tmp/omeroClientLogs.zip ~/omero/log/omeroinsight.log

Re: Difficulty using insight to log in to VirtualBox omero 4

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:33 am
by kennethgillen
Hi Benjamin,

Thanks very much for submitting them, we got the logs no problem.

That will help us with development of OMERO.

In the meant time, it may be worth trying a new JVM.

http://askubuntu.com/questions/55848/how-do-i-install-oracle-java-jdk-7

Thanks again,

Kenny

Re: Difficulty using insight to log in to VirtualBox omero 4

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:57 pm
by bpavie
Hi Kenny,

I installed the SUN jdk 7 but obtained similar results and still can't connect using the omero insight client.

I noticed this error in the log:
Code: Select all
Error reading from url: http://upgrade.openmicroscopy.org.uk?version=4.4.6-ice33-b102
,
which is probably because I'm behind a proxy. Is this how you test if the network is up/down ?
How do you actually test that?

Code: Select all
java -version
java version "1.7.0_17"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_17-b02)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 23.7-b01, mixed mode)

Re: Difficulty using insight to log in to VirtualBox omero 4

PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:14 am
by jburel
Hi
We do not do use it to notify the user, when a connection start,
bpavie wrote:in the log:
Code: Select all
Error reading from url: http://upgrade.openmicroscopy.org.uk?version=4.4.6-ice33-b102
,
which is probably because I'm behind a proxy. Is this how you test if the network is up/down ?
How do you actually test that?


We only use to monitor the usage of the client i.e. X instances started in X locations. A way to keep our funding up. We do not notify users, you probably should.

We have another mechanism using the NetworkInterfaces to check if the network is still up, before touching the Ice communication layer so that the application does not freeze.


Regards
Jmarie

Re: Difficulty using insight to log in to VirtualBox omero 4

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 8:19 am
by seb
According to [1], it seems that Linux clients attempt to open a socket connection to http://www.openmicroscopy.org.uk instead of using the NetworkInterfaces check mechanism - this could explain why this blocks when attempting to connect behind a web proxy.

[1] https://github.com/openmicroscopy/openm ... r.java#L83