We're Hiring!

problems with omero5 rc1 vm

General and open developer discussion about using OMERO APIs from C++, Java, Python, Matlab and more! Please new questions at https://forum.image.sc/tags/omero
Please note:
Historical discussions about OMERO. Please look for and ask new questions at https://forum.image.sc/tags/omero

If you are having trouble with custom code, please provide a link to a public repository, ideally GitHub.

problems with omero5 rc1 vm

Postby ebbwdan » Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:51 pm

Hi

Rather than use our production server for testing out some webapp ideas I decided to give the vm a try. I was using 4.4.10 without a problem but recently upgraded to the version 5 rc1 vm. In this version I cannot get Omero web to run in development mode; it gets as far as telling me it is starting the server on 0.0.0.0:4080 but then hangs. I cancelled and restarted the fast cgi server but now the login screen tells me that the server is not responding even though running "bin/omero web status" tells me the server is running. I have also intermittently been getting "bad gateway" responses.

Cheers,

Dan.
ebbwdan
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:46 am

Re: problems with omero5 rc1 vm

Postby atarkowska » Mon Feb 10, 2014 9:22 am

Hi Dan,

Could you send as logs from /home/omero/OMERO.server/var/log ?

Thanks
Ola
atarkowska
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: problems with omero5 rc1 vm

Postby ebbwdan » Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:29 pm

Hi Ola,

I have uploaded the logs to omero qa.

I also realised that actually the bad gateway issue is not intermittent. The web server never starts after switching to development mode and all attempts to access the webclient after switching to development (obviously) then return bad gateway.

Cheers,

Dan.
ebbwdan
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:46 am

Re: problems with omero5 rc1 vm

Postby atarkowska » Wed Feb 12, 2014 2:34 pm

Hi Dan,

Right, By default OMERO-web should be set up in production mode. If you do

Code: Select all
bin/omero config get

you should see

Code: Select all
$OMERO_HOME/bin/omero config set omero.web.application_server "fastcgi-tcp"


but in your case I can see you have APPLICATION_SERVER = 'development'

That will not work with nginx as you’ve started OMERO.web on a lightweight build-in Web server that works on localhost:4080

In order to use nginx you need to change the following
Code: Select all
/home/omero/OMERO.server/bin/omero config set omero.web.application_server "fastcgi-tcp"


restart OMERO.web and you should get OMERO.web back.

I hope that helps.

Ola
atarkowska
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: problems with omero5 rc1 vm

Postby ebbwdan » Thu Feb 13, 2014 12:36 am

Hi Ola,

Thanks for the response. The thing is I want the webserver running in development mode. I thought I followed the instructions correctly to make this work:

1. bin/omero web stop
2. bin/omero config set omero.web.application_server development
3. bin/omero web start

Problem is the web server is not starting again.

I've obviously missed/misunderstood something here. I am testing out webapps and I wanted to use the vm for this. Would you be able to point me to/supply me with instructions on how to get started please?

Many, many thanks!

Dan.
ebbwdan
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:46 am

Re: problems with omero5 rc1 vm

Postby jmoore » Thu Feb 13, 2014 6:58 am

Hi Dan,

you may be running into an unstopped background process. When I run, ps auxw -H for example I see:
Code: Select all
hudson   28771  0.0  0.0 289300 54712 ?        S    05:43   0:00   python manage.py...
hudson   28772  0.0  0.0 298804 58408 ?        S    05:43   0:00     python manage.py...
hudson   28773  0.0  0.0 289300 54256 ?        S    05:43   0:00     python manage.py...
hudson   28774  0.0  0.0 307728 67440 ?        S    05:43   0:00     python manage.py...
hudson   28775  0.0  0.0 298804 58408 ?        S    05:43   0:00     python manage.py...
hudson   28776  0.0  0.0 298804 58408 ?        S    05:43   0:00     python manage.py...

If you see something like this, or even just a single "python manage.py" entry, you might try killing the process. Here it would be "kill 28771" for the top process.

If that doesn't work, you might check if something else is using your port with "netstat -na | grep 4080"

Cheers,
~Josh
User avatar
jmoore
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1591
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 1:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: problems with omero5 rc1 vm

Postby ebbwdan » Fri Feb 14, 2014 12:07 am

Hi Josh,

That did the trick, thank you!

Dan.
ebbwdan
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:46 am


Return to Developer Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest