We're Hiring!

Images from ROIs script error

General user discussion about using the OMERO platform to its fullest. Please ask new questions at https://forum.image.sc/tags/omero
Please note:
Historical discussions about OMERO. Please look for and ask new questions at https://forum.image.sc/tags/omero

There are workflow guides for various OMERO functions on our help site - http://help.openmicroscopy.org

You should find answers to any basic questions about using the clients there.

Images from ROIs script error

Postby Lachie » Tue Aug 04, 2015 1:18 am

Hi All,

For some of my current uses the "Images from ROIs" script in OMERO would be a killer application except for the fact I can't get it to work on the filers required. These are .svs files from an Aperio ScanScope system. I suspect the issue may be in the way the pixel data is stored in these files (bioformats sees them as a few series at different resolutions). Error report is attached.

Unfortunately editing the script is a little beyond my abilities at this stage (although always eager to learn) so any input from the community here would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
-Lachie
Lachie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 2:19 am

Re: Images from ROIs script error

Postby wmoore » Tue Aug 04, 2015 9:48 am

Hi Lachie,

You didn't add your script error, but I'm guessing it's some problem with working with big images, such as memory limits or trying to create a tiled image from a single big plane.

For example, see the discussion at viewtopic.php?f=6&t=7565
During that discussion, Dan Matthews adapted the "Images_From_ROIs" script to work with big images.

You can find the result of that here:
https://github.com/will-moore/omero_scr ... om_ROIs.py

Give it a try and let us know how it goes.
However, it can take a long time to run, depending on the size of your images.

Hope that works!

Will.
User avatar
wmoore
Team Member
 
Posts: 674
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: Images from ROIs script error

Postby Lachie » Wed Aug 05, 2015 12:00 am

Hi Will,

Thanks for your reply, that's done the trick!

However, now I can't get the images out (granted the ROIs I'm extracting are large as well - I know it's not ideal but I'm trying to make sure my current workflows will also be possible using omero).

Omero is telling me it can't extract large images. I've done a brief search but not sure if there's a fix for this or not.

Thanks,
-Lachie
Lachie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 2:19 am

Re: Images from ROIs script error

Postby wmoore » Wed Aug 05, 2015 12:45 pm

Hi Lachie,

Glad that the image cropping worked. NB: these new images are full copies of the pixel data so will take up extra space on disk, especially since they are not compressed like the original .svs files.

In what format do you want to export the images? RGB tiff or OME-TIFF?
How big are the images you're exporting (size X & Y)?

If you want to export as 8bit TIFF (or png or jpeg) and your images are not "too big" then you can remove the check in the Batch_Image_Export script that checks for "tiled" images.

https://github.com/ome/scripts/blob/dev ... rt.py#L394

Code: Select all
        if img._prepareRE().requiresPixelsPyramid():
            log("  ** Can't export a 'Big' image to %s. **" % format)
            if len(images) == 1:
                return None, "Can't export a 'Big' image to %s." % format
            continue
        else:
            log("Exporting image as %s: %s" % (format, img.getName()))


Then select the images to export, launch the script, choosing NOT to "Export Individual Channels" (just the Merged Image) and choose TIFF (or other format) at the bottom.
This will try to get the whole rendered plane for the image and save it as a TIFF for each image in a zip file for download.
NB: if this is large, you probably want to delete the zip after download (it will be attached to the image).

This worked fine for me just now with a 4k * 6k image, but you'll have to try and see if it works for you (or causes problems for your server).

If this fails then you might need to try reading data in tiles and assembling into full images in the client?

Let us know how it goes!

Will.
User avatar
wmoore
Team Member
 
Posts: 674
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: Images from ROIs script error

Postby labriedion » Tue Apr 12, 2016 5:50 pm

Hi Will,

I'm also trying to extract ROIs from slide scanner images. I tried your Slide_Scanner_Images_From_ROIs script (https://github.com/will-moore/omero_scr ... om_ROIs.py) and it doesn't seem to work for me. I get this error message:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "./script", line 445, in <module>
runAsScript()
File "./script", line 434, in runAsScript
robj, message = make_images_from_rois(conn, parameterMap)
File "./script", line 326, in make_images_from_rois
images = [image for image in images if image.getROICount("Rect") > 0]
File "C:\OMERO.server\lib\python\omero\gateway\__init__.py", line 9048, in getROICount
count = sum(1 for roi in result.rois if isValidROI(roi))
File "C:\OMERO.server\lib\python\omero\gateway\__init__.py", line 9048, in <genexpr>
count = sum(1 for roi in result.rois if isValidROI(roi))
File "C:\OMERO.server\lib\python\omero\gateway\__init__.py", line 9023, in isValidROI
if isValidType(shape):
File "C:\OMERO.server\lib\python\omero\gateway\__init__.py", line 9017, in isValidType
elif isinstance(shape, getattr(omero.model, shapeType)):
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'Rect'


Do you have any idea what's causing this?

Thanks,
Étienne
labriedion
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:26 pm

Re: Images from ROIs script error

Postby sbesson » Tue Apr 12, 2016 7:43 pm

Hi Étienne,

I suspect you are running your script against a OMERO 5.2 server where omero.model.Rect has been renamed as omero.model.Rectangle - see http://www.openmicroscopy.org/site/supp ... tsnew.html. You might want apply modifications to your scripts similar to what was done in https://github.com/ome/scripts/pull/104 to fix it.

Best,
Sébastien
User avatar
sbesson
Team Member
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:20 pm

Re: Images from ROIs script error

Postby labriedion » Wed Apr 13, 2016 6:41 pm

Hi Sébastien,

Wow! I fixed the script and that worked perfectly, thanks! I'm quite new to all this and it was such a simple fix. Thanks for answering so fast too!

Étienne
labriedion
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:26 pm


Return to User Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest