We're Hiring!

Changing ownership of data

General user discussion about using the OMERO platform to its fullest. Please ask new questions at https://forum.image.sc/tags/omero
Please note:
Historical discussions about OMERO. Please look for and ask new questions at https://forum.image.sc/tags/omero

There are workflow guides for various OMERO functions on our help site - http://help.openmicroscopy.org

You should find answers to any basic questions about using the clients there.

Changing ownership of data

Postby Lachie » Fri Feb 05, 2016 4:17 am

Hi All,

I'd like to be able to move data between users in different groups. At the moment I understand the way to do this would be with the CLI command chown, but as I understand it this leaves the data in place and so while the new owner owns the data, they can't see it.

I figured the next step would be to use chgrp to move the data to the new owners group but this is where I run into trouble. Despite being an administrator I can't seem to complete this move (I get the error "Current user is not member of group: " error). I also tried to change myself into that group (using omero sessions group ) but to no avail.

Is there something I'm missing or am I going about this in entirely the wrong way?

Thanks,
-Lachie
Lachie

Re: Changing ownership of data

Postby cblackburn » Fri Feb 05, 2016 9:05 am

Hi Lachie,

I'd like to try to reproduce the problem if possible, so could you describe the scenario you have in a little more detail (anonymising any names of course)? What are the permissions of the two groups, which users are in which groups, etc.? And what is the cli command that fails? Also, could you let us know what version of OMERO you are using?

Cheers,

Colin
cblackburn

Postby Lachie » Thu Feb 18, 2016 4:28 am

Hi Colin,

Basically what I have gone through:
1) Important an image (Image:823) into my user account, in my group (permissions private (rw------))