We're Hiring!

OMERO.editor 4.3.3: text view/tree view

General user discussion about using the OMERO platform to its fullest.

OMERO.editor 4.3.3: text view/tree view

Postby Dario.Bottinelli » Thu Dec 01, 2011 1:22 pm

Hi,

I have been using OMERO.editor for a while and I have a few questions concerning the tree view/text view.

When I set default values for a parameter they do not appear neither in the tree view nor in the text view but only on the parameters panel (on the right). It would be very useful to see the default values automatically, so that if one has to use a protocol he can just print it or modify only the parameters he needs to change. It is possible to make default values visible for all the parameter types available?

I also noticed that the units of measure are only displayed in the tree view if you use a table of parameters or the number parameter, it is coorect?
It would be useful to display units of measure for all the parameters.

Finally, the parameter name is currently not visible in the tree view (except for tables) which makes difficult to distinguish among parameters in case of multiplle parameters per chapter (multiple white fields one next to the other without text). It is possible to display the parameter name/description in the tree view?

Thank you very much. Best regards.

Dario
Dario.Bottinelli
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 3:42 pm

Re: OMERO.editor 4.3.3: text view/tree view

Postby wmoore » Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:29 pm

Hi Dario,

Thanks for your feedback.

Do you want to see the default value as well as the existing value of a parameter? Or just display defaults for ones that don't have a value set?
I used to have an option to auto-populate every field with it's default value (if parameter is empty AND there is a default value for that parameter). Would this be suitable for your needs? It would be easier to implement this than to try and display default values somehow.

Currently the Editor only supports units for number parameters. Can you give examples of other parameter types that need units? E.g. do you need units for a text field?

We currently show a 'tool-tip' when you mouse over the Step, and this shows the names of all the parameters in that step. Would it be more helpful if it showed the name of the each field individually? Would this be enough or would you like the names shown on-screen beside (or above) each field?
If so, would you want the names to be displayed all the time, or shown/hidden in the same way as the "info"?

Cheers,

Will.
User avatar
wmoore
Team Member
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: OMERO.editor 4.3.3: text view/tree view

Postby Dario.Bottinelli » Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:31 pm

Hi,

We would like to see the default values for all the parameters for which such a value has been set. The option to auto-populate every field with its default value is perfect for our needs.

Concerning the units of measure, we would like to have them displayed in the tree view also for drop-down menus.

It would be more helpful for us to see the name of each field individually and displayed all the time, maybe above the value.

Thank you very much. Best regards.

Dario
Dario.Bottinelli
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 3:42 pm

Re: OMERO.editor 4.3.3: text view/tree view

Postby wmoore » Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:18 am

Hi Dario,

I've created tickets for these 3 features: http://trac.openmicroscopy.org.uk/ome/ticket/7737 http://trac.openmicroscopy.org.uk/ome/ticket/7738 http://trac.openmicroscopy.org.uk/ome/ticket/7739

Adding units to drop-down menus: I wonder if you could add the units to each option (do you have a large number?). E.g. options = "10 mg, 20 mg, 50 mg".
If this solves your issue it would be nice, although I'll see how much work it is to do it properly.

Cheers,

Will.
User avatar
wmoore
Team Member
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: OMERO.editor 4.3.3: text view/tree view

Postby Dario.Bottinelli » Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:51 am

Hi,

Great! We think that to add units directly to each option is temporarily ok but it would be better to add units to drop-down menus separately from the values if it is possible.

Thank you. Best regards.

Dario
Dario.Bottinelli
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 3:42 pm

Re: OMERO.editor 4.3.3: text view/tree view

Postby wmoore » Tue Feb 28, 2012 1:41 pm

Hi Dario,

I've been working on these tickets. E.g. Screen-shot: http://trac.openmicroscopy.org.uk/ome/a ... .14.53.png

One question: I've implemented the "load defaults" behaviour to only load defaults for parameters that have a default value AND the parameter value itself is empty. This is to ensure you don't accidentally overwrite your data when loading defaults. If you want to overwrite, you can "clear experimental values" first.
Does this behaviour sound OK?

The only potential probem is that you may have some parameters which have experimental values but no defaults and others with experimental values AND defaults and you want to overwrite with defaults. You'd have to clear values from the whole experiment to 'overwrite', and this would also clear the experimental values from the paramters with no defaults.

The other option is to ALWAYS load defaults if they exist, even overwriting existing values. OR allow the user to choose, which means asking every time, or giving the user 2 toolbar buttons - one for each behavior. Does that make sense?

How does this affect your use-case?

Cheers,

Will
User avatar
wmoore
Team Member
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: OMERO.editor 4.3.3: text view/tree view

Postby Dario.Bottinelli » Thu Aug 16, 2012 10:00 am

Hi Will,

Sorry for my delay in answering. Sounds perfect.
Concerning the overwriting, we would prefer to have two toolbar buttons or to decide each time.

Thank you. Best regards.

Dario
Dario.Bottinelli
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 3:42 pm


Return to User Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests