We're Hiring!

Edit metadata

Having a problem deploying OMERO? Please ask new questions at https://forum.image.sc/tags/omero
Please note:
Historical discussions about OMERO. Please look for and ask new questions at https://forum.image.sc/tags/omero

The OMERO.server installation documentation begins here and you can find OMERO.web deployment documentation here.

Edit metadata

Postby GonzaloO » Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:13 pm

Hello,

My name is Gonzalo Ortega, I am student of Bioengineering, at Entre Ríos National University, Argentina. I'm doing my thesis, for which I use the OMERO system.

I would like to ask if there is an editor for ome.tiff file's metadata, because the OMERO.editor only attaches protocols. On the other hand, I have installed the 4.4.8 OMERO.server on my personal computer for doing some tests. I used the command line tool of BIOFORMAT. I looked for an example of the current scheme of OME and I utilized tiffcomment and xmlvalid commands to add and validate some files. Spite of they are successfully validated, the metadata do not appear at OMERO.insight, and all the commentaries I've added to the .ome.tiff file
appear like raw data under the Description tag. What's going on?

Sorry for my primitive english.
Thank you.
Greetings.
GonzaloO

Re: Edit metadata

Postby mlinkert » Thu Nov 28, 2013 4:45 am

Hi Gonzalo,

Thank you for your interest in OMERO and OME-TIFF.

I would like to ask if there is an editor for ome.tiff file's metadata, because the OMERO.editor only attaches protocols. On the other hand, I have installed the 4.4.8 OMERO.server on my personal computer for doing some tests. I used the command line tool of BIOFORMAT. I looked for an example of the current scheme of OME and I utilized tiffcomment and xmlvalid commands to add and validate some files.

The 'tiffcomment' command is the easiest way to edit the metadata in an OME-TIFF file by hand, so it sounds like you're on the right path.